Summer Movie Watch List 2013

Magazine Cover (Apr 19, 2013)I just got back from Cinemacon 2013 in Las Vegas where the 7 major studios showcased their movie lineups through 2015.  I came home to find the annual Entertainment Weekly Summer Movie Preview edition, my key resource for sorting through all of the new releases for the summer to compile my “must see” list.  Quick observation; after reviewing my blog post for last year’s Summer Movie Watch List, I noticed that with the inclusion of the Man of Steel in this edition, for two years running they used DC Characters for this issue (last year, The Dark Knight Rises).  This is despite the fact that Marvel has more box-office mojo than DC.  I predicted last year that The Avengers would surpass The Dark Knight Rises in box-office gross.  I think the easy money this year is on Superman.  I also find it interesting that the movies are released with the hero monikers (Man of Steel vs. Superman, Dark Knight vs. Batman) – a marketing tactic that seems to be enjoying some success.  Anyway, once again, below are the movies I will be watching on the big screen this summer (sorted by release date).  I have more than twice as many movies on this list as I did last year (19 vs. 9), so this may be a huge summer for Hollywood if that’s any indication:

And here’s the list of movies I’d like to see, but can wait until they are available for instant streaming on my Xbox:

  • The Great Gatsby (May 10)
  • Fast & Furious 6 (May 24)
  • We Steal Secrets: The Story of WikiLeaks (May 24)
  • The Internship (June 7)
  • The Heat (June 28) – They showed us this entire film at Cinemacon too, so I can wait for DVD/Xbox streaming.
  • Grown Ups 2 (July 12)
  • 2 Guns (August 2)
  • We’re the Millers (August 9)
  • Planes (August 9) – Normally I go to see all Pixar films at the theater.  For some reason, this isn’t grabbing (even as a pilot of the paragliding kind)
  • The To Do List (August 16) – CBS Films showed the full movie at Cinemacon, it was raunchy and funny, but the kind of movie I can wait to see.
  • Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters (August 16)
  • The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones (August 23)
  • The Colony (August 23) – I heard nothing about this until I saw it on the EW Summer calendar, so I had to look it up on YouTube.  Has a “Day After Tomorrow” combined with “I Am Legend” type of feel…
  • You’re Next (August 23)
  • Don Jon (August TBA)
  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

